honey bee life cycle

Honey Bee Life Cycle – 8 Phases


Honey Bee Life Cycle Explained

1. The queen lays each egg in a different cell of the honeycomb.

honey bee life cycle - queen bees lay eggs

2. As soon as the egg is laid, the larva is growing inside it.

honey bee life cycle - larva grows

3. After three days, the egg hatches and a larva crawls out.

honey bee life cycle - egg hatches

4. As the larva grows, it sheds its skin. It does this five times.

honey bee life cycle - larva sheds skin

5. Eight days after hatching, the bee larva is fully grown.

honey bee life cycle - larva fully grown

6. The larva cannot feed anymore and it starts to change into a pupa.

honey bee life cycle -  pupa

7. After nine days, the pupa changes colour. It has turned into an adult.

honey bee life cycle - adult pupa

8. When it’s about three to four weeks old, the bee will leave the hive.

honey bee life cycle - bee leaves hive

Other Related Pages on Honey Bee Life Cycle

1. Full account on the body parts of the honeybee in: 18 Body Parts of Honeybee – What Amazing Things They Do!

2. Honey is perceived as vomit by some people as it comes out from the bee’s mouth. More in: Honey is Bee Vomit, Legit? Absolutely Not, Honeybee has 2 Stomachs!

3. Do bees poop in the honey they make? Are their droppings smelly when all they eat is honey and pollen? What do honey bees use to make the bee hive? Is it true that the government is using bees to sniff out bombs? Get these answers and fun facts of honey bee in Bee & Honey Questions Answered.

4. Learn about this little busy creature’s extraordinary abilities: 20 Wonderful Honey Bee Facts (#8 is Surprising).

5, What Britannica records about honey bee parts: honeybee

Learn the different parts of the honey bee body in “Honey Bee – Parts of Its Body”.

End of “Honey Bee Life Cycle – 8 Phases”. Back to “Honey Bee Facts”